"Move [alert] clip to folder" is like a free hard drive upgrade!

carteriii

Pulling my weight
Jan 8, 2016
172
183
USA
I want to draw attention to one of the latest features (as of 6.0.9.17) which is the ability for a confirmed alert to move the recording clip/file to another folder. Ken gets all the credit for the specific approach and implementation, but it was based on a request that I made and I think it is absolutely awesome for anyone who uses the "Continuous" video recording. Allow me to describe my situation which I suspect applies to a lot of you.

For context, I use the "Continuous" recording on all my 50+ camera streams because I often need to look far before or after a triggered alert to see where a person or vehicle originated before triggering the alert, or went after the alert was finished. While recording only "When triggered" or "When alerted" would clearly save a ton of disk space, that simply would not work for me, and I suspect it wouldn't work for a lot of you. The downside of continuous recording is that it takes a lot of disk space, thereby limiting the number of days that anyone can keep recordings based on the amount of disk you have purchased.

Having said that, I do not get alerts every moment of every day. Particularly at night, there simply isn't as much activity. I have configured BlueIris to cut each video recording in lengths of one hour, and I will have entire hours in which there are no alerts. I often wished that I could delete those clip recordings which had no alerts, in order to keep more of the recordings with alerts. The ability to have an alert "Move clip to folder" gives us all exactly that, albeit requiring one other configuration change.

I now specify that alerts move my recording clips to a different folder (see the screenshot below), then in the storage folder configuration I specify that recordings in the original folder can be deleted much sooner. I still keep them for a couple days for peace of mind, but in theory I could specify to delete them almost immediately. In turn, this allows me to keep recording clips with alerts for a much longer period of time, without needing to purchase additional disk space.

As a purely hypothetical example, let's say that today you can only retain your recordings for a duration of 14 days. If you only have alerts in ~50% of your recording clips, then by adopting the process that I just described, you should be able to maintain your recording clips with alerts for ~28 days with the same disk(s) that you have now.

This also has me reconsidering the length of my recording clips, because even one alert within one hour means I keep the entire hour of recorded video. By contrast, if I used clips with a max of 30 minutes of duration, then I could theoretically keep only that 30 minute clip with the one alert and more quickly delete the other 30 minutes which did not have any alert.

I hope my description helps clarify how using this feature can be super useful and valuable. The degree to which you get the benefit depends entirely on the frequency and distribution of your alerts, but I suspect many of you have hours, particularly at night, when you simply don't have any alerts. Using this will allow you to store your "alerted" recordings for longer, without buying more disk. It's like the best combination of "Continuous" recording with recording only "When alerted".

blueiris-move-alerts-to-folder.png
 
Thanks for taking the time to explain this feature and use case. I think it will be great for my installations in the same way you’re using it.

If you enable this feature, I assume the results are invisible to the user when browsing through clips or scrubbing the timeline? (At least until the no-alert clips eventually get deleted.)

On a side note, I feel like a lot of useful features get added to Blue Iris regularly but are barely mentioned in the release notes or change log, if at all, and then I never know about them unless someone makes a post like this.
 
  • Like
Reactions: jrbeddow
I assume the results are invisible to the user when browsing through clips or scrubbing the timeline? (At least until the no-alert clips eventually get deleted.)
Correct. No change to the user experience.
 
I'm curious how you've opted to configure the new folder in Settings > Storage.

It's really simple in concept, but there are edge cases and can take some tweaking. At a high level, I simply size the new folder (of only "alerted clips") to be as big as what I can remove or reduce from the original folder. BlueIris lets you do that either by time to keep recordings, or pure disk space.

Let me give an example. Let's say you have a 16TB hard drive which is dedicated to recording storage. For simplicity, I'm ignoring any space for the operating system if you store to the same drive as Windows and your applications. I personally move my files from a local SSD to my Synology NAS, which I'm also ignoring for simplicity. I also specify my recordings to be one hour each (e.g. 1-2pm, 2-3pm, 3-4pm) so I'm going to use that for my example.

Your current configuration would likely specify keeping up to 16 TB of storage, after which you delete files. Let's make another assumption that each day of video storage consumes 1TB of disk, so right now you get about 16 days of recordings.

I decided that I still wanted to keep 2 days of "non-alerted" recordings, just in case one of my alerted recordings happened immediately before or after the hour (e.g. 1::59pm or 2:01pm) and I might want to still see the non-alerted clip just after or before. So I then changed my original recording folder to delete after 2TB. I set my new storage folder to use an allocated 14TB.

Now the question is how many of your hour-long recordings have alerts? If it's 50%, then you now have 28 days of recordings PLUS 2 days of your non-alerted recordings.

I will point out that my math above is simplistic, because I suggested reserving 2TB for your non-alerted recordings, based on 1TB of recordings for every day. HOWEVER, once you remove the alerted clips, and ONLY store non-alerted clips in the original folder, you'll actually have more than 2 days of non-alerted recordings. The alerted recordings are not moved until after the recording has finished, so if you have 10 camera streams then you will still use that much disk in the original folder to hold one hour of 10 streams. So while I used 2TB above for simplicity, you could probably make it closer to 1.5TB and you'd still have enough space for 2 days of non-alerted recordings.

I feel like my simplifications led to a much longer message with all sorts of disclaimers, and hence my "tweaking" my settings. I started with simple math, and then just started gradually tweaking the amount allocated (e.g. 2TB & 14TB, vs 1.5TB and 14.5TB).

Obviously if you want more than 2 days of non-alerted recordings, just allocate more storage to your original folder. If you don't care about them at all, use less. The original folder just needs to be at least large enough to hold a full hour of recording from every stream. And again, an "hour" is my default recording file size, and yours could be more or less.
 
  • Like
Reactions: jrbeddow